Missouri Medical Marijuana Laws And Licencing Info
Missouri medical marijuana laws and licencing information for dispensaries – Medical marijuana was legalized in Missouri, 2018, with the approval of Amendment 2. The new law allows for a state regulated dispensing system, along with licensing of medical marijuana businesses through a proper application process.
As per new Missouri medical marijuana laws, the
- Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS), will be responsible for issuing licenses to qualified patients, with physician’s certification and medical marijuana dispensaries and facilities as well. In fact, the department began accepting applications since June, 2019.
- DHSS mandates patients with qualifying conditions, to present their physician’s certification, no older than 30 days for availing the license.
- physician’s certification has to be a written recommendation stating the patient’s condition, from a qualifying condition from the DHSS’s qualifying conditions list.
- Home cultivation will be allowed to the qualified patients and caregivers, who also apply for a cultivation card. With the card, the cardholder will be allowed to grow up to 6 plants.
Missouri Medical Marijuana Laws
Missouri Medical Marijuana Laws And Licencing Info – Table of contents:
- Qualifying conditions of patients
- Patient possession qualifications
- Patient Possession limits
- Types of medical marijuana licenses and their fees in Missouri
- Process of obtaining medical dispensary license in Missouri
- Qualifications for medical marijuana license applicants
- Criteria applicants will be scored on for obtaining medical dispensary license
- Criteria for medical marijuana dispensaries to operate within the state
- Taxes on medical marijuana in Missouri
- Inventory control and audit requirements in Missouri
- Reporting requirement for dispensaries in Missouri
- Does Zencanna POS System meet Missouri’s medical dispensary requirements?
Related Article: Colorado Medical And Recreational Marijuana Laws
Missouri Medical Marijuana Laws For Dispensaries
Qualifying conditions of patients
The following diseases and symptoms make a patient qualifying enough, to avail medical marijuana in Missouri.
- HIV or AIDS
- Psychiatric disorders like PSTD
- Hepatitis C
- Inflammatory bowel disease
- Crohn’s disease
- Huntington’s disease
- Sickle Cell Anemia
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Cachexia/wasting syndrome
- Conditions that cause persistent pain, muscle spasms, including MS, Parkinson’s disease and Tourette’s syndrome
- Any terminal illness
Patient possession qualifications
- Qualifying patients above 18 years of age or caregivers of qualifying patients under the age of 18 can avail medical marijuana from state licensed marijuana dispensaries
- The caregivers of underage qualifying patients should have ID card (not older than 30 days) issued by the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS)
- Medical marijuana patient license/caregiver ID costs about $25, with 1-year validity
Patient Possession limits
- Up to 4 ounces per 30 days
- For home cultivation, up to 6 flowering marijuana plants are allowed. Also, the cultivation must take place in a closed, locked facility
- Up to 90 day of dried, unprocessed marijuana or equivalent, if cultivating on their property or else up to 60-day supply of dried, unprocessed marijuana or equivalent (if not cultivating)
Related Article: Michigan Medical Marijuana Dispensary Laws
Types of Medical Marijuana Licenses and Their Fees in Missouri
|License Type||New Application fee (From 2018-2021)||Annual fee||Renewal fee|
|Laboratory testing facility||$5000||$5000||$5000|
Process of obtaining medical dispensary license in Missouri
- DHSS has not announced its next round of applications, post the last application round (from 3rd August-20th August, 2019). It is expected to publish its new timelines (at least 6 months in advance of the next window) for fresh applications for medical marijuana licenses.
- Up to 5 dispensary or 3 cultivation or 3 manufacturing licenses may be issued to “an entity under substantially common control, ownership and management”
- Each owner, officer, manager or anyone in the staff, should have an agent ID card with a unique identifying number. This card is available through DHSS for $75 and has a validity of 3 years.
Qualifications for medical marijuana license applicants
- Applicants must be Missouri residents with a proof of residency for at least 1 year.
- Entities must be owned primarily by individuals, who have been Missouri residents for at least a year and do not have resident privileges in any other state.
- The facility, for which the license is applied, should not be owned or employ anyone with a history of disqualifying felony offense.
- Application should have a statement, confirming everyone’s (owners, principal officer and managers) fingerprint submissions and criminal background check by the Missouri State Highway Patrol, done within the past 6 months.
Related Article: How Much Does It Cost To Open A Cannabis Dispensary?
Criteria applicants will be scored on for obtaining medical dispensary license
- The qualifications of the owners, including principal officers or managers
- Previous experience, if any, in the cannabis market
- Experience with health care
- The entire business plan, which includes the safety, security, supply, low-income patient income and black-market avoiding solutions
- Positive economic impact probability
- Security at dispensary site
- Potential of the plan, to sustain competition prevailing in the medical marijuana market
Related Article: Difference Between Medical And Recreational Marijuana
Criteria for medical marijuana dispensaries to operate within the state
- The medical marijuana dispensaries should sell only to medical patients with qualifying conditions or to the caregivers of underage patients.
- The consumers should have a valid DHSS issued ID card.
- The dispensaries should only sell mature plants, seedlings, concentrates, flowers and edibles.
- The permissible sale limit for the medical marijuana dispensaries is not more than 4 ounces of dried, unprocessed cannabis or equivalent to a qualifying patient within a 30-day period.
- The dispensaries should also comply with the state’s labeling and packaging requirements, which states that packaging must highlight whether the product is “marijuana” or “marijuana infused product”.
- Marijuana products by the medical dispensaries should be sold in opaque, resealable package with proper warnings, consistent with state laws.
- The dispensaries should be at least 1000 feet from an elementary or secondary school, daycare or church.
Related Article: State Recreational Marijuana Laws, License Fees And Taxes
Missouri Medical Marijuana Taxes
- 4% tax is levied on medical marijuana, with the revenue distributed towards healthcare, job training, housing assistance and other services for veterans
Inventory control and audit requirements in Missouri
- DHSS has the auditing powers over all the state’s commercial medical marijuana operations.
- Dispensaries are supposed to appoint a facility agent, who will be in-charge of inventory control systems and procedures.
- National Type Evaluation Program approved scale must be used to weigh or measure all kinds of medical marijuana at the medical dispensaries. The device should be calibrated once a year.
- As per DHSS, each dispensary should have DHSS-certified seed-to-sale tracking system
- Inventory should be counted physically, every quarter and reconciled to perpetual inventory records. All discrepancies must be documented, investigated properly by a manager and reported to the DHSS within 24 hrs.
Reporting requirement for dispensaries in Missouri
- As per Missouri-DHSS, which is the primary licensing cum monitoring authority for all kinds of cannabis businesses, its important that medical marijuana dispensaries and all facilities use a department certified seed-to-sale tracking system.
- The seed-to-sale tracking system of the dispensaries should be in sync with the State’s, METRC, track and trace system.
- The seed-to-sale tracking system should report each day’s beginning marijuana inventory, acquisitions, sales, disbursements, remediation, disposals, transfers and end-of-the-day inventory.
- Inventory reporting should precisely include the exact weight of dried, unprocessed marijuana sold in ounces or grams, concentrates in grams and infused products by milligrams of THC.
- Failure to comply with the seed-to-sale requirements of the state will result in the facility/dispensary’s license loss.
- For record keeping, all dispensaries must maintain its records for at least last five years, after the date of recording.
Related Article: 10 Signs Of Using Wrong Cannabis POS System
Zencanna Point-of-Sale System For Missouri Medical Dispensaries
Does Zencanna’s POS meet Missouri’s medical dispensary requirements?
Zencanna Point-of-Sale Software is highly compliant at all levels of business operations, to match the state’s specific regulatory requirements.
- The point-of-sale platform of Zencanna integrates well with METRC, the state’s track and trace system and provides all important inventory control and tracking information.
- DHSS gets full access to all of Zencanna’s POS system database information.
- Intelligent business analytics assists in generating inventory and sales reports and timely reports to DHSS.
- Safety and security of customer data is of prime importance for Zencanna’s POS. Hence, it maintains the confidentiality feature by restricting access to only DHSS and other law bound entities.
- The tax compliance feature of the point-of-sale platform of Zencanna is unique and highly compliant with Missouri’s tax system.